Rio 2016: CNN’s ‘Open Court’ airs this week

Pat Cash speaks with Maria Esther Bueno

Maria Esther Bueno and Pat Cash
Maria Esther Bueno and Pat Cash

Open Court host Pat Cash met seven-time Brazilian Grand Slam champion Maria Esther Bueno, who has had the Olympic centre court named in her honour and the program airs this week on CNN around the world.

Cash sneaked a peek of the Olympic Tennis Centre in Rio de Janeiro ahead of this summer’s games, where Andy Murray will seek to defend his title.

He also speaks to Rio 2016 Venue Director, Gustavo Nascimento, on the challenges of constructing the tennis facilities, and the reasons why athletes will be playing on hard courts instead of clay ahead of the US Open.

Inside Rio 2016’s Olympic Centre


Pat Cash meets seven-time Grand Slam winner, Maria Bueno

The Centre Court at the tennis facility is named in honour of seven-time Brazilian Grand Slam champion, Maria Esther Bueno, who also features in the programme.

Speaking before participating in the Olympic Relay in Sao Paulo last weekend, Maria Esther explains to ‘Open Court’ what it means to be associated with the venue, before joining Cash in a game of tennis at her home club, Sociaded Harmonia de Tenis.

CNN serves up a half hour of tennis that takes viewers beyond the baseline in search of the most compelling stories in the sport.

Hosted by former Wimbledon champion Pat Cash,‘Open Court’ airs Saturday 30 July on CNN International at 1730 BST / 1830 CET.

The show also airs at the following times: Sunday 31 July at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET.